A grandmother’s story…

It’s a long time since i’ve told you a story. My great grandmother used to tell me this when i was a kid and i used to laugh and laugh hearing it. Ok guys, be ready. Here it comes…

There was a priest in a village. One day, he massaged oil all over his body. He walked towards the village pond to have his bath wearing his loin cloth. He saw that one of his neighbours had spread black gram dal in front of their house for drying. This priest immediately thought of vada and started salivating. Immediately he had a thought. He fell on top of the dal and rolled and because of the oil, the dal got struck all over his body. he went home and shook himself till all the dal fell on the floor. He made a couple of trips like that till he collected enough dal. Then he commanded his wife, “wife, i’m going to the pond for an elaborate oil bath. By the time i come back, prepare vada using this dal so that i can eat it”.

The wife, being a dutiful wife, prepared vada using the dal. She got nearly 30 vadas. When she saw the final product, she wanted to eat them. she thought, “anyway, he will give half of it to me, so let me eat them now itself. there is no point drooling over it”, and she eat 15. She waited for some more time. The priest did not come back. The wife thought, “anyway he’s not going to know how many vadas i made. so let me eat some more”. and she ate 5 more vadas. She waited for her husband again. When he did not return she ate some more (see he’s not going to know actually how many she ate and anyway half of what’s remaining is hers 🙂 ). Finally she was left with two vadas. She thought she will give him one and take the other herself. when he did not return, she naturally ate her one vada and there was only one remaining.

By that time the priest returned and asked for vadas, she gave him promptly one. He was angry. He shouted, “do you mean to say that you got only one vada out of all the dal i got?. I am going to beat you to a pulp till you tell me the truth”. She was so scared of her husband she told him that she ate all the vadas waiting for him. He was astonished, “how did you eat all those vadas?”, he asked her. She promptly put the remaining one vada into her mouth and said, “like this”.

Ok, ok. it doesn’t end here. After eating all the vadas, the wife became so thirsty she drank up two pots of water available in the house. Her thirst was still not quenched. She said, “i am thirsty, give me water, give me water”. The priest was so angry, he dragged her to the village well, put the rope to her throat and put her inside shouting “now you can drink up all the water”. The wife got strangled and died with her tongue hanging out.

i was grew up in a village and there was a pond and a well in that village. so i could visualize the whole thing.

hm… so you want the moral of the story….
well, i leave it to you.

For me, i think, i will keep enough water in the house before i eat up all the vadas 😀

About bhagyathewitch

For years, i've been writing down my random thoughts and mail them to my friends. Many of them have told me to blog which i've been resisting so long. Partly because i am afriad to unleash my mental pictures to the unsuspecting public . whatever i express here is my viewpoint at that point in time. I will be mentioning "my sir" lot of times in this - which refers to my teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A grandmother’s story…

  1. Sabareesh says:

    Moral of the Story: Vada Pochae!!!!!!!

Leave a comment